DTP

Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web

Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > How to Use the Forum

Old 11-09-2009, 09:27 AM   #1
gilly56

Default InDesign 2-color output

I've just upgraded to CS4 and Snow Leopard on a Mac 8-core, and a 2-color job which I sent to offset print keeps RIP'ing to cmyk. My printer has never seen this before, and neither have I. When I check the info on the pdf it shows as 2-color; when I look at the grayscale images in photoshop they are grayscale (the colors are black and pms 350). The duotones in photoshop show up as duotones. I've been doing this for 20 years (although I was using Quark up until last year). I am stumped. The printer has run my files for about 5 years now and we've never seen this problem. I'd say it was his RIP, but he ran another file that he created in 2-color and it worked perfectly. He does have to convert my InDesign to an eps and send it through quark, because that what his RIP needs. Could that be the problem? Or are there some settings in InDesign that I should adjust?
gilly56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 09:55 AM   #2
Benwiggy

Quote:
Originally Posted by gilly56 View Post
He does have to convert my InDesign to an eps and send it through quark, because that what his RIP needs. Could that be the problem?
I should think so! Why on earth should he have to do this?
If you supplied it as a PDF, would he export that as EPS and run it through Quark......? Madness.

There's potential for re-separation when he exports the EPS from ID, and when he sends the PS from Quark.
What is his RIP? If it can't handle PostScript output from Adobe InDesign, then there's something frightening going on.

I would send him press-compliant PDFs, which are demonstrably duotones. Any problems are his and his curious setup's to deal with.
Benwiggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 10:36 AM   #3
gilly56