DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > The Corner Pub

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2006, 08:41 PM   #1
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 4,038
Default Trojan Attack

I've heard of this, but it is really something to see it happen. I was surfing around following links and all of a sudden my Anti-Virus software sounds an alarm. I guess I should have shut down my browser first, but I was too busy trying to figure out the choice on the AV alert menu. I picked "move," assuming this meant to quarantine. Then I noticed "cure" so I hit that. Finally realized I was going to keep getting messages, so I shut down the browser. This stopped the messages from the AV software. But before I did that, my second line of defense (a startup watcher) sounded the alarm. Two different programs were trying to insert themselves into the registry so they would auto-start the next time I boot. Which I assume means they got past my AV software, even though it was trying to deal with them. But the scariest thing was to see a new icon on my desktop and new program installed into my computer. Something called "UnSpyPC Scanner & Monitor", which appears to be a Trojan. And it looks like I was hit with hgqhp.exe, which might be what delivered the other one.

What I'm wondering is whether this is a flaw in Opera, or whether it is a part of life running Java etc. in a browser and surfing around.
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 09:39 PM   #2
Richard Waller
Member
 
Richard Waller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Goring-by-Sea, West Sussex UK
Posts: 732
Default

I had a similar warning from AVG Free edition yesterday. The option they gave me was to move it into the Vault, which I did, but they also warned that my operating system may not now work correctly. What a bore. But I have not found any problems so far. And apparently this virus does not yet have a name which is odd.

   
__________________
Richard Waller
www.waller.co.uk
www.goring-by-sea.uk.com
Richard Waller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 01:17 AM   #3
annc
Sysop
 
annc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Subtropical Queensland, Australia, between the mountains and the Coral Sea
Posts: 4,503
Default

How uncomfortable!

May I suggest a Mac as the solution?

   
__________________
annc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 05:14 AM   #4
George
Member
 
George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,036
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by annc
How uncomfortable!

May I suggest a Mac as the solution?
What??? And lose all my best software?? After working with a PC a little bit, the Mac's got nothing on me.

George
George is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 06:52 AM   #5
iamback
Member
 
iamback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Posts: 4,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew B.
What I'm wondering is whether this is a flaw in Opera, or whether it is a part of life running Java etc. in a browser and surfing around.
Wouldn't that depend on what your security settings are in Opera, what security fixes you have installed for your OS, and what sites you browsed to and what links you clicked?

What does the site of your anti-virus software say about this trojan / these trojans and about how they get into a system?

   
__________________
Marjolein Katsma
Look through my eyes on Cultural Surfaces (soon!), My ArtFlakes shop and Flickr.
Occasionally I am also connecting online dots... and sometimes you can follow me on Marjolein's Travel Blog
iamback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 12:09 PM   #6
annc
Sysop
 
annc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Subtropical Queensland, Australia, between the mountains and the Coral Sea
Posts: 4,503
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by George
What??? And lose all my best software?? After working with a PC a little bit, the Mac's got nothing on me.
If you get yourself one of the latest iMacs, you can have both. Load Windows XP for all those essential programs that don't work on the Mac (would love to know which ones they are) and do your e-mail and browsing in Mac OS X.

   
__________________
annc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 12:59 PM   #7
Michael Rowley
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ipswich (the one in England)
Posts: 5,105
Default

Ann:

You have to buy a program from Apple Computers first, so why not buy a more price-worthy machine from another manufacturer? At least you would then have a choice of operating systems.

   
__________________
Michael
Michael Rowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 01:00 PM   #8
Kelvyn
Staff
 
Kelvyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: In the Heart of the English Lake District
Posts: 1,381
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by annc
all those essential programs that don't work on the Mac (would love to know which ones they are)
Well, HomeSite for a start. And WS_FTP Pro - and NoteTab Pro. Then there are all those games. .......

   
__________________
Kelvyn

Web site design, hosting and marketing, Keswick in the UK Lake District

If you are planning a visit to Keswick then try Keswick Tourist Information website

Kelvyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 01:26 PM   #9
annc
Sysop
 
annc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Subtropical Queensland, Australia, between the mountains and the Coral Sea
Posts: 4,503
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvyn
Well, HomeSite for a start. And WS_FTP Pro - and NoteTab Pro. Then there are all those games. .......
There is the wonderful BBEdit instead of HomeSite (it works with Dreamweaver in just the same way as HomeSite does. And we have a plethora of useful ftp programs, such as Fetch and Yummy FTP (hate the name, but it's a very good ftp program).

As for the games, well apart from the daily Shockwave crossword, I rarely play those, even the ones that only work on my ThinkPad.

   
__________________
annc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 02:15 PM   #10
iamback
Member
 
iamback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Posts: 4,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by annc
There is the wonderful BBEdit instead of HomeSite (it works with Dreamweaver in just the same way as HomeSite does.
The integration is similar but BBEdit doesn't have all of the features that HomeSite does! Sure, it's a powerful editor, but it's not totally comparable to HomeSite.

   
__________________
Marjolein Katsma
Look through my eyes on Cultural Surfaces (soon!), My ArtFlakes shop and Flickr.
Occasionally I am also connecting online dots... and sometimes you can follow me on Marjolein's Travel Blog
iamback is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2019 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.