Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web

Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Fonts & Typography

Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old 03-11-2010, 02:42 PM   #1
Founding Sysop
ktinkel's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,187
Default TDC 2010 Type design awards

The Type Directors Club has announced the winners in this year’s competition, including Ronald Arnholm with a new square-serifed member of the Legacy family; Jean-François Porchez, introducing a Spanish-themed modern named Retiro; and Robin Nicholas, Alice Savage, and Delve Withrington, with a large family of newspaper faces called Ysobel; among several others.

I was especially struck by Joos, an upright italic by Laurent Bourcellier, a revival of a 16th century face; and Narziss, a swirly high-contrast ad face, reminiscent of the 70s, by Hubert Jocham. There are also a couple of arabic faces: Aisha by Titus Nemeth and DecoType Nastaliq by Mirjam Somers (the latter listed without a specimen, so far), and a calligraphic Japanese face by Ryoko Nishizuka, Kazuraki.

Be sure to click on the links to specimens of each design, which are somewhat easy to miss at the bottom of each description.

ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Type design awards 2009 ktinkel Fonts & Typography 11 03-02-2009 11:31 AM
American Type Design & Designers ktinkel Fonts & Typography 0 03-24-2007 01:50 PM
Print Awards PeterArnel Print Production & Automation 22 07-13-2006 02:51 PM
Type design competition ktinkel Fonts & Typography 0 08-24-2005 06:48 AM
Mark Simonson type design ktinkel Fonts & Typography 3 02-18-2005 03:34 PM

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:13 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2019 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.