DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > General Publishing Topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2006, 04:18 PM   #1
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9,948
Default Some WinXP questions...

My sister has just received a new Dell laptop and of course, I've been given the task of tweaking it--you know...getting rid of all the crap they load up on these things and generally making it behave in a civilized fashion...'-}}

It's running WinXP SP2...

I'm running W2K and don't haven't used WinXP all that much and I've got some questions:

1. Should I use Microsoft's firewall or turn it off and install ZoneAlarm?? I have ZoneAlarm installed on my sister's current laptop and I use it myself and I like it...

2. Somebody talk to me about the Security Center. I will be doing some research on this but should I keep it or disable it???

3. System Restore: Can you still create a restore point manually if you turn this option off???


Thanks!

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2006, 05:18 PM   #2
Hugh Wyn Griffith
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terrie
My sister has just received a new Dell laptop and of course, I've been given the task of tweaking it--you know...getting rid of all the crap they load up on these things
If they don't supply decent recovery CDs to reinstall with, or the builtin mechanism to make them, I hope you will do that pronto, before you clean up anything.

In the CIS Windows Forums we get people cleaning up their computer and then find they can't start it ......

   
__________________


Hugh
Hugh Wyn Griffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 10:36 AM   #3
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9,948
Default

Quote:
hugh: If they don't supply decent recovery CDs to reinstall with, or the builtin mechanism to make them, I hope you will do that pronto, before you clean up anything.
Good advice but I'm not doing anything that drastic to this laptop...Dell used to provide a hidden partition with the system backup on it...I've not had a chance to check this yet...

Thanks...

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 03:24 PM   #4
Hugh Wyn Griffith
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terrie
Good advice but I'm not doing anything that drastic to this laptop...Dell used to provide a hidden partition with the system backup on it...I've not had a chance to check this yet...
You may not know until after the event and then "you'll be sorry"

   
__________________


Hugh
Hugh Wyn Griffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2006, 09:25 AM   #5
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9,948
Default

Quote:
hugh: You may not know until after the event and then "you'll be sorry"
LOL!!! The hidden partition is there with the Dell provided restore mechanism...of course you lose everything you had but for what I'm doing at this point, that's ok...I'll create an XP restore point shortly...

Thanks...

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 04:42 PM   #6
marlene
Staff
 
marlene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,419
Default

Quote:
The hidden partition is there with the Dell provided restore mechanism
I had to use the Thinkpad's built in restore thang. I hadn't installed anything yet but had set up the networking so I could access the Internet. I just browsed for a couple of minutes to test it out (didn't have a firewall set up yet) and picked up a Trojan. It was just that quick.

I used the IBM restore, which worked fine but took a long time.

Then I set up the firewall, first thing. <g>

mxh
marlene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006, 11:15 AM   #7
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9,948
Default

Quote:
marlene: I had to use the Thinkpad's built in restore thang. I hadn't installed anything yet but had set up the networking so I could access the Internet. I just browsed for a couple of minutes to test it out (didn't have a firewall set up yet) and picked up a Trojan. It was just that quick.
Wow!!! I didn't plug the cable modem into the laptop until I have ZA installed...sometimes paranoia is a very healthy trait...'-}}

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2006, 10:53 PM   #8
marlene
Staff
 
marlene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,419
Default

I agree with Hugh -- make sure you make a complete backup before you tweak anything.

I don't know anything about System Restore. My (IBM) laptop has some sort of built-in restore feature, but it takes up too much hard drive space. I had to allot a certain amount of space for the "backup" file (don't remember what it's called, or if it's an IBM thang or an XP thang), and now if I try to do the backup thing, it tells me there's not enough space.

So I've given up on it. I am thinking about installing DriveImage (or similar) and backing up to an external device. That way I don't lose a bunch of space on my laptop's hard drive. And external devices are cheap.

I don't use the MS firewall. I use ZoneAlarm, although I'm told I don't need it because I use a router.

Security Center: I just clicked on it, and it says it's "currently unavailable because the service has not started or was stopped." Don't know if it's something I did -- I can't remember fooling with it except to turn off the firewall and turn off automatic updates. I let it tell me when XP updates are available, but I don't want any outside forces updating my system when I'm not looking.

mxh
marlene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 03:32 AM   #9
iamback
Member
 
iamback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Posts: 4,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marlene
I don't use the MS firewall. I use ZoneAlarm, although I'm told I don't need it because I use a router.
Routers normally are not able to stop outgoing traffic. That's what you need a good firewal for (ZA is a possible but there are others).

   
__________________
Marjolein Katsma
Look through my eyes on Cultural Surfaces (soon!), My ArtFlakes shop and Flickr.
Occasionally I am also connecting online dots... and sometimes you can follow me on Marjolein's Travel Blog
iamback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 04:21 PM   #10
marlene
Staff
 
marlene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,419
Default

Quote:
Routers normally are not able to stop outgoing traffic. That's what you need a good firewal for (ZA is a possible but there are others).
I knew there was probably a good reason why I was using ZA in addition to the router! I just didn't know what the reason was!

mxh
marlene is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhoto for WinXP??? Clayton General Publishing Topics 14 10-24-2006 03:25 PM
Trouble with WinXP Font Installer dthomsen8 Fonts & Typography 10 09-15-2006 05:04 AM
Oddball WinXP Pro SP2 Problem Franca General Publishing Topics 17 06-15-2006 11:53 AM
Moving PS fonts to WinXP Howard Fisher Fonts & Typography 2 06-17-2005 08:01 AM
Odd Behavior Firefox 1.01 WinXP michelen How to Use the Forum 2 03-01-2005 12:41 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2019 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.