DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2019, 02:37 AM   #1
Limebury
Member
 
Limebury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Durham, UK
Posts: 29
Default Homesite

I know I'm old fashioned and I don't do websites for others any more, but one or two I still update. I have been using the old faithful Homesite 5.5 on my XP computer because I know it and have lots of snippets. I have now at last got a new PC running Windows 10 and when I installed Homesite on it, I got a splash screen with no option to enter my registration number, just Quit or Information, the latter leading to a box of out of date links. Adobe website has nothing. I have my registration number saved but can't enter it to make HS run. Any ideas?

   
__________________
Patrick
Durham UK
(Back again after a long absence!)
Limebury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 06:25 AM   #2
Bo Aakerstrom
Member
 
Bo Aakerstrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Derby,UK
Posts: 1,423
Default

Last updated in 2003. You might want to find a replacement...

   
__________________
www.boaakerstrom.com
Behance Portfolio
Bo Aakerstrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 06:27 AM   #3
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7,145
Default

Here's an interesting link from Nick Bradbury, the fellow who wrote HomeSite originally:
https://nick.typepad.com/blog/2009/0...continued.html

He suggests that his TopStyle is a good substitute for HomeSite, and it probably brings a raft of other features that were unheard of when he wrote HomeSite. Quite a few people on this forum have recommended it.

Elsewhere, people have recommended Notepad ++. It's free and very capable for editing all manner of code, not just HTML, and supports a whole ecosystem of plugins. I'd be surprised if there isn't one (or more) to handle a library of code snippets.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 08:40 AM   #4
Bo Aakerstrom
Member
 
Bo Aakerstrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Derby,UK
Posts: 1,423
Default

Although TopStyle supports HTML5 and CSS3 I would be wary of spending £84.12 (that's what their website says anyway) on a product which is no longer being updated. As both languages are rolling releases - i.e. continually developed, I'd be concerned that anything newer than 2014 won't be supported.

Something like that happened when development ceased on Aptana Studio 3. It ended up being left to rot, slowly becoming less and less useful.

Notepad++ is one good option if you are on Windows. Microsoft Visual Studio Code and Atom are also worth looking into. Both of those are open source, free, and extensible - there are a plethora of useful extensions to choose from.

Personally I wouldn't use anything that has not got the option of installing Emmet, or at least some 3rd party implementation of it (emmet.io). The best thing since sliced bread when it comes to writing code.

   
__________________
www.boaakerstrom.com
Behance Portfolio
Bo Aakerstrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 10:06 AM   #5
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7,145
Default

Good points all

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 11:19 AM   #6
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9,816
Default

Quote:
limebury: I got a splash screen with no option to enter my registration number, just Quit or Information
Does Win10 (ewww! '-}}) allow you to set Compatibility mode? To check, highlight the HomeSite exe, right-click, choose "Properties" and look for a "Compatibility" tab. If it's there, you might try playing with the options to see if one will get you further...


Additionally...I don't know if this might be a factor. When I had my first Win7 (pro/64bit) system custom built, I was told that Photoshop 7 would not run in Win7/64bit. After doing a bit of research I came across a forum post that suggested that as long as the drive where Photoshop was installed was 1TB or less, Photoshop should install and work properly and that has been my experience.

Did you install HomeSite on a drive over 1TB?




Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Homesite oddity Limebury Web Design 28 03-08-2009 10:34 PM
Homesite British English dictionary LoisWakeman Web Site Building & Maintenance 17 02-20-2008 06:33 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2019 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.