DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-12-2022, 08:46 PM   #1
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 4,298
Default Speech to text

I own a copy of Dragon Natural speaking, which is a speech to text program. I was never thrilled with it because it was sort of slow, made a lot of mistakes. If I trained it well it improved. But then all of a sudden it would lose its training.

So I upgraded to Windows 10 which has speech to text and I was hoping it would work better, but same thing. I trained it a lot and it lost its training one day.

So after looking around awhile I found Speechnotes. It's surprisingly accurate, and it's easy to use. Except I wish I could turn off the automatic adding of periods when it thinks the sentence ends. And it's not perfect. But I'm using the free version and maybe the pay one is better.

   
__________________
fallberry.com
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2022, 10:49 PM   #2
woody649
Member
 
woody649's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 388
Default

Thanks for the heads up. This is one I wasn't aware of.
woody649 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2022, 07:37 PM   #3
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 4,298
Default

Here's my follow up. I recently dictated two pages. speechnotes only made one mistake. I said the word I said "period" and it entered it as punctuation, not as a word.

   
__________________
fallberry.com
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2022, 07:48 PM   #4
woody649
Member
 
woody649's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 388
Default

Curious. It says to click the microphone to start recording -- but I don't see a microphone.
woody649 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2022, 09:10 AM   #5
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 4,298
Default

It's red and immediately to the right of where it says English, US. at the tip right of the dictation area of the interface.

One thing I neglected to mention. It can also read back to you what it just typed. This feature is what helped me spot the error regarding the period.

Edit: I use the Edge browser for this.

   
__________________
fallberry.com
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2022, 07:52 PM   #6
woody649
Member
 
woody649's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew B. View Post
It's red and immediately to the right of where it says English, US. at the tip right of the dictation area of the interface.
Nope. Not there.
woody649 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2022, 11:56 PM   #7
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 4,298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by woody649 View Post
Nope. Not there.
See attached picture. What is your OS and browser?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard Image.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	122.9 KB
ID:	2145  

   
__________________
fallberry.com
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2022, 07:45 AM   #8
woody649
Member
 
woody649's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew B. View Post
See attached picture. What is your OS and browser?
Here's my thumbnail.

Windows 10, Waterfox Classic 2022.11 browser (the latest update)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Speech_Snip.JPG
Views:	10
Size:	113.3 KB
ID:	2146  
woody649 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2022, 11:09 AM   #9
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 4,298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by woody649 View Post
Here's my thumbnail.

Windows 10, Waterfox Classic 2022.11 browser (the latest update)
Next trouble-shooting step is to try using Edge browser,.

   
__________________
fallberry.com
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2022, 07:14 PM   #10
woody649
Member
 
woody649's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew B. View Post
Next trouble-shooting step is to try using Edge browser,.
So much for standards.

It works in Edge, and it works in Brave. It does not work in Waterfox, Firefox, or Pale Moon.
woody649 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Window 10 speech to text Andrew B. Software 4 06-06-2021 08:12 PM
Windows 10 speech to text Andrew B. Software 1 05-01-2018 12:53 PM
Text to speech Andrew B. The Corner Pub 5 09-20-2011 09:39 AM
Text to Speech problems Andrew B. Software 5 05-08-2011 02:32 PM
The Queen's speech in mp3 Kelvyn The Corner Pub 0 12-22-2006 03:24 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2019 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.