DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Hardware & Gadgets

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2010, 10:25 PM   #1
BobRoosth
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 937
Default Re: Windows 7

Over the weekend I transitioned from Windows XP to Windows 7 64-bit. The computer has been alive for several weeks, but installing software is time-consuming. I am not done, but I finally have enough to do my work. And the old machine is still available if it is needed.

A couple of observations:

-- USB support is odd. I have an Epson Perfection 4490 Photo. When connected via a hub, it is available in Device Manager but neither Epson Scan nor Photoshop can connect. Connected directly to a USB port on the computer, it works just fine!

-- Ditto for one of my digital cameras, a Canon Powershot SD1200. Could not connect via a hub, but could directly.

Fortunately, this motherboard comes with eight USBs on the rear panel.

Most of my software is new enough to not be an issue. The exceptions: Ventura 10 needed a workaround to install. Fortunately google found the solution. And my Quicken 2000 is working, but behaves a bit differently than it does under XP. Yes I know that is 10 year old software, but it does everything I need. I hate the newer versions.

Printer drivers are a bit of an issue. HP has not chosen to publish drivers for the LJ 1320, neither PCL nor Postscript. I told Windows it is some other HP printer and the drivers seem to work. It is connected via the network, so Windows can't tell exactly what it really is.

I am still using a Palm that is not a phone. Palm did not write USB drivers for Vista or Windows 7 64. Fortunately, I found a Zire 72 that has Bluetooth. That connection is a bit tricky to set up, but now that is syncing with Outlook works well.

Windows also claims to see by Motorola phone over BT, but have not found anything I can do with the connection.

I have not run into any font issues, but I have also not done much with ID or Draw to make them surface. I do have Bitstream FontNav installed. I expect it install fonts as Ventura and Draw need them. I'll have to handle InDesign docs as issues arise.

So far the machine is fast and stable. Win 7 does come with one feature that is largely not noted in the press: a useful backup system, esp. with Professional and Ultimate. It does both a file and an image backup and restores can look backwards in time. It's not the spiffy TimeMachine interface (which I find rather annoying), but it has much of the functionality.
BobRoosth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 08:44 AM   #2
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,853
Default

Thanks for posting that. I'm looking at getting a new computer with 64 bit Windows 7. I'd get 32 bit but they are not offering it.
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 09:02 AM   #3
BobRoosth
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 937
Default

Any vendor installing 4 gb or more of RAM will use 64-bit. The 32-bit version cannot access more than about 3.5 gb. Less if the video card uses more than 512 mb.

Other than the driver issues, I don't see any reason not to use 64-bit. Those issues will be less as legacy devices die. I don't know what the issue is with my USB hub. It worked perfectly under XP.
BobRoosth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 07:44 PM   #4
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,853
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobRoosth View Post
Any vendor installing 4 gb or more of RAM will use 64-bit. The 32-bit version cannot access more than about 3.5 gb. Less if the video card uses more than 512 mb.
Windows 7 would be able to access more RAM, but would a 32 bit program be able to take advantage of this.

Quote:
Other than the driver issues, I don't see any reason not to use 64-bit. Those issues will be less as legacy devices die. I don't know what the issue is with my USB hub. It worked perfectly under XP.
If memory serves me, I once got some help from the official Microsoft support forums. Maybe you could ask there.
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 08:21 PM   #5
BobRoosth
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 937
Default

No single program can get more than 2 gb, but most don't need anywhere near that much. Photoshop is the rare exception. Which is why there is a 64 bit version thereof.

The 64-bit system can manage more than 3.5 gb. I have been running XP with 3.5 gb for a number of months, but never saw actual usage go above about 1.6 gb. I bumped up from 2 gb to 4 so that my VMWare machines could have all they needed without impacting other apps.
BobRoosth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 06:28 PM   #6
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,853
Default

How's the memory footprint of your XP versus you Win7
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 06:44 PM   #7
BobRoosth
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 937
Default

Just sitting here with Outlook and FF open, and the misc background utilities (91 processes), 2 gb in use. XP in the same state would be about 800 mb.

I had a couple of reasons for building a new machine:

-- Outlook was taking longer and longer to open (my pst is not small)

-- A few months ago I was working with Draw files that could take several minutes to save.

Have not gotten to those Draw files, but Outlook is definitely snappier to open, as is pretty much everything else. As it should be. Old machine was a Core 2 E6400. This is an i7 860. When I get some DDR3 1600 RAM that works (first parts did not) I'll play with overclocking.
BobRoosth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 09:02 AM   #8
BobRoosth
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 937
Default

Revised answer: I brought the total to 8 gb. With more than the usual open (Outlook, Dreamweaver, Photoshop, ThumbsPlus, Acrobat, Draw, Roxio), it is now 3.6 gb used.

The Resouce Monitor shows over 4.4 gb in Standby mode, defined as "
Memory that contains cached data and code that is not actively in use." Good reference here:

http://blogs.techrepublic.com.com/wi...windows/?p=884

Basically, that means disk cache. Seems to make the system respond more smoothly.

Just found this:

http://blogs.zdnet.com/Bott/?p=1786&tag=nl.e539

even better explanation.
BobRoosth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 10:49 AM   #9
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,853
Default

Thanks, Bob.
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 11:31 AM   #10
Susie
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 649
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobRoosth View Post
Most of my software is new enough to not be an issue. The exceptions: Ventura 10 needed a workaround to install. Fortunately google found the solution.)
I've been up and running on 7 for a week now, and have adjusted <grumble> pretty well. I'd like to know what you had to do to get Ventura installed. I haven't undertaken that yet, but am going to have to very soon now.

I had Acrobat 6 which works perfectly well, but it refused to install on this machine, so I had to upgrade to Acrobat Pro 9. It's OK, but I think I like the interface of 6 better.

   
__________________
Susie

Last edited by ktinkel; 02-09-2010 at 01:00 PM. Reason: fixed quote
Susie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
32 vs. 64 bit Windows 7 Andrew B. Software 56 01-31-2010 09:11 AM
Windows 7 - 22 Oct Richard Waller Software 16 11-01-2009 07:30 AM
Windows 7 Richard Waller Web Site Building & Maintenance 28 07-27-2009 01:02 PM
OTF on Windows and Mac - help! djb Fonts & Typography 9 01-05-2009 03:28 AM
Windows XP Andrew B. Software 19 01-09-2006 05:43 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2019 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.