DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > General Publishing Topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2017, 04:22 PM   #21
Hugh Wyn Griffith
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,458
Default

I didn't realize you dragged the icon; I tried to drag/copy-paste the URL the icon revealed and that did not.

Just now I opened CNN using my desktop icon with the URL formatted as shown by me earlier: "E:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe" \<A href="http://www.cnn.com/" target=_blank>www.cnn.com

I tried to drag and drop the (i) icon you point to but it does not react as I may have mentioned before; right mouse click to open a context menu copy/paste does not work.

I opened an empty FF frame from a desktop icon to open FF empty (except for the usual Google Search content, typed in the Address Box: CNN / CTRL + ENTER and that opened CNN as you might expect but the icon is still not draggable.

If I drag with CTRL held down then it creates a desktop shortcut but the URL in it is:

http://www.cnn.com/

and that opens CNN but in IE as expected since IE is my default browser.

Is FF set as your default browser and are you in Windows 7?

   
__________________


Hugh
Hugh Wyn Griffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 04:48 PM   #22
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,528
Default

I can't tell from your message if you are still having a problem. I drag with the left mouse button. I know right away if its working because the cursor arrow adds a plus sign to its image. I also get visual feedback about whether I'm over a place I can drop it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bneTYTqJI3w

   
__________________
fallberry.com
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 09:40 PM   #23
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,528
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sky4forums View Post
Maybe it is time to contact the Firefox people.
Good idea. I've been fiddling with this for too long.

   
__________________
fallberry.com
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 07:28 AM   #24
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,742
Default

Just played with this some more, FWIW. I've been doing the same as you, Andrew: dragging the icon to the left of the URL to the desktop. The shortcuts I create this way using FireFox open in FF, the ones I create using MSIE open in MSIE. FF is the default browser here, in case it matters.

If you look at the Properties page for the shortcuts created by the two browsers, they're quite different.

MSIE's reports that the type of file is "Pinned Site Shortcut (.website)"
FF's says it's an "Internet Shortcut (.URL)" and has a fifth tab on the properties page, "Web Document" that shows the complete URL.

The Details tabs for the two are quite different as well, and if you look at the contents of the two files, there's some crossover but the MSIE version has twice as much (largely incomprehensible to the average human) stuff.

And it turns out that all you need to do to create your own shortcut files is to create this in a text editor:

[InternetShortcut]
URL={plug in the url you want here}

Save it as a plain text file with a .URL extension.

Here, the file inherits a FF icon, probably since FF is my default browser. I'm curious to hear what happens on a system where MSIE or Chrome is the guilty party. Over to you, Andrew. Quiz in the morning.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 09:52 AM   #25
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,528
Default

FWIW, I don't need to have FF as my default browser to launch URL files. Instead, I associated URL files with FF. Vivaldi is still registered as my default browser and responds as such, except for URL files.

   
__________________
fallberry.com
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 04:15 PM   #26
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,528
Default

The latest release of Firefox fixes this problem. It also kills the add-ons I was using, all of which are legacy add-ons.

   
__________________
fallberry.com
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 06:08 PM   #27
Hugh Wyn Griffith
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,458
Default

Sorry I could not help you earlier but I could not reproduce any of what you describe and anything I did drag (CTRL + LMC) only opened in the default browser, in my case IE, even if originating in a FF browser window.

I did suspect that it was likely to be FF with its continuous "updates".

   
__________________


Hugh
Hugh Wyn Griffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2017, 09:42 AM   #28
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,528
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh Wyn Griffith View Post
Sorry I could not help you earlier
No problem. Thanks for your help.

   
__________________
fallberry.com
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Path mysteriously changed Andrew B. General Publishing Topics 6 09-19-2014 10:56 AM
The web has changed the world Richard Waller The Corner Pub 19 09-26-2009 11:18 PM
Has Acrobat changed Mike Print Production & Automation 5 06-21-2009 01:30 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.