PDA

View Full Version : Filtering Text with Basic Formatting Only

UK_Smithy
12-17-2012, 09:24 AM
I've been working with QuarkXPress and InDesign for many years, but have not yet found a way to filter text files from MS Word so that ONLY very basic formatting is imported. For instance, I want to import Word files WITHOUT font name, size and spacing information, but I want to RETAIN the formatting data for Roman, Italic, Bold and Bold Italic. I want to remove everything else, so in essence I want a plain text file that contains the <b>, <i>, <bi> and <p> flags but no other formatting data.

Does anyone know if this is possible, and if so what are the best tools?

Thanks.

Steve Rindsberg
12-17-2012, 10:54 AM
I'm probably missing something, but it seems you could open the file in Word, save under a new name, then Ctrl+A to select all, change everything to a single font name, size and spacing. That shouldn't affect bolding/italic/etc.

UK_Smithy
12-17-2012, 11:42 AM
The problem with that solution is the fact that the Word file continues to contain font & size definitions. Even if it's all the same font/size, the information is there regardless. I want to be able to import the file into InDesign or Quark in the same way as I would a plain text file, but it would contain just the roman, italic, bold etc styles and nothing else.

I'm importing Word files for a number of academic books, and the fonts and sizes must be standardised using Style Sheets, but I don't want to have to go through manually redefining the italic and bold bits, of which there are thousands.

UK_Smithy
12-17-2012, 12:42 PM
Put another way, all I want to do is import a Word document into Quark or InDesign and then apply Style Sheets cleanly but without losing the four basic text attributes.

terrie
12-17-2012, 01:26 PM