PDA

View Full Version : FontAgentPro: export/import libraries?


donat
06-08-2005, 11:44 AM
I installed Font Agent Pro 3 recently. Previous to that, i used version 1, in which i organised my fonts well into different libraries and sets. How can I make use of these sets and libs in the newer version? It took me quiet some time to organize all the fonts and don't want to do this again. Any suggestions are appreciated.

ElyseC
06-10-2005, 03:38 PM
I've just started using Font Agent Pro, so can't help you, sorry, but I know at least one person here is a happy user. I don't remember who right now, but perhaps they'll spot your post.

Hm...perhaps a change of thread title to include the Font Agent Pro name will get them to notice...

Stephen Coles
06-10-2005, 06:32 PM
From the FAQ at Insider Software (http://www.fontagent.com/SU_faqs.php):

How do I backup my fonts and sets and restore them or move them to another computer?

FontAgent Pro uses full paths to identify font files. The following technique works if existing libraries are restored or moved to exactly the same location (full path) on the new computer and if libraries are stored in the Home directory and moved to a different user's Home directory. All the fonts, libraries, and sets will be moved to the new computer...

donat
06-10-2005, 06:33 PM
thank you ElyseC, for pointing out/correcting the thread title. i hope we get an answer.

ElyseC
06-10-2005, 07:16 PM
thank you ElyseC, for pointing out/correcting the thread title. i hope we get an answer.Well, it looks like I only changed the title of the root message as it displays in the thread, not the actual thread title. Oh well, IAC it seems you have help on the way now, so that's good news! :-)

donat
06-10-2005, 08:20 PM
i sent an email to them, haven't got any answer yet. i let you know if it happens.

donat
06-10-2005, 08:26 PM
i tried this too, i wonder whether this is the suggested workaround for the involved versions of FontAgent Pro, since i didn't succed finaly. but will try again and have it "double checked" by a buddy. thanks for the input, Stephen.

terrie
06-11-2005, 02:12 PM
>>elysec: it looks like I only changed the title of the root message as it displays in the thread, not the actual thread title

I fixed the thread title for you...

Terrie

ElyseC
06-11-2005, 02:47 PM
I fixed the thread title for you...Thanks, m'dear! Coming back from travels my brain is still not quite in the groove, on line or off. <g>

terrie
06-14-2005, 12:07 PM
>>elysec: Thanks, m'dear! Coming back from travels my brain is still not quite in the groove, on line or off. <g>

LOL!! Travel can do that...hope you had a good time...

Terrie

johnsonbunch
02-28-2008, 05:12 AM
From the FAQ at Insider Software (http://www.fontagent.com/SU_faqs.php): FontAgent Pro uses full paths to identify font files. The following technique works if existing libraries are restored or moved to exactly the same location (full path) on the new computer and if libraries are stored in the Home directory and moved to a different user's Home directory. All the fonts, libraries, and sets will be moved to the new computer...
There is nothing on the Insider Software FAQ about this. I emailed them and got instructions on how to copy when migrating. I've never migrated before and I don't want to clone. (Is that the same or different?) The machine I want to have the sets on is a newer OSX and I want it to be a fresh install. I thought I could export to a backup drive and then import from there onto the new Mac, like you do with ATM on a PC. Here's what they emailed if someone can clarify:
I assume you want to move your database adn fonts to a new machine and have them be identical. Here are the instructions below:

Before you migrate you need to turn off the preference for managing System Fonts on your original system. If you want to copy over those libraries (System Fonts (Home) and System Font (Library)) you should export them, copy them over to the new machine and import them into FAP.

Close out of FAP Pro on both machines.

Copy the ~/FontAgent Pro Fonts/ folder from your home directory into the corresponding directory on the target machine.

Copy the ~/Library/FontAgent Pro/ folder into the corresponding directory in the target machine.

If you placed these folders in custom locations on your current install, you will need to recreate the directory path to that custom install on the new system. For example, if you placed the FontAgent Pro Fonts folder in a folder in your user directory called "All My Fonts", you will need to created that folder on your new system so that the database will have the correct path to your fonts.

ktinkel
02-28-2008, 05:37 AM
Here's what they emailed if someone can clarify:

Before you migrate you need to turn off the preference for managing System Fonts on your original system. If you want to copy over those libraries (System Fonts (Home) and System Font (Library)) you should export them, copy them over to the new machine and import them into FAP.Left to its own devices, FontAgent Pro will automatically set up the System fonts, both main Library and your Home Library. If you turn that function off in Prefs, which seems to be the suggestion, it won’t do that. You can then copy your old ones into the new Fonts folders.

Instead of that, I would let FAP do its thing; that way, you will be sure to get the most recent versions of the System fonts. Then copy the old set of fonts and place them somewhere, so can can copy over any fonts that are missing from the set installed by the new OS. (There may not be any missing fonts, depending on which versions of OS X you are talking about.)

Close out of FAP Pro on both machines.So it isn’t trying to run while you are moving files around.

Copy the ~/FontAgent Pro Fonts/ folder from your home directory into the corresponding directory on the target machine.

Copy the ~/Library/FontAgent Pro/ folder into the corresponding directory in the target machine.If you do not do this, FAP will get lost — it uses the full path name to locate files. If you installed it in the ordinary way originally, the application will probably be in the Applications folder; if not, put it wherever it was. Then place the FAP Fonts folder in the same directory it was in, at the same level as before, on the new Mac.

I hope that helps. It reads more complicated than it is. :)

johnsonbunch
02-28-2008, 05:48 AM
It's not the system fonts I'm concerned with. It's the 1295 fonts I have divided into sets by style: serif, sans serif, script, decorative, dingbats, etc.

ktinkel
02-28-2008, 06:49 AM
It's not the system fonts I'm concerned with. It's the 1295 fonts I have divided into sets by style: serif, sans serif, script, decorative, dingbats, etc.Ah. Well, if you copy FAP and the FAP Fonts folder from wherever they are on your old Mac into the same folders/directories on the new machine, you should be fine.

You asked about cloning vs copying: I believe cloning is done by reproducing a file or folder bit-by-bit, so it gets even hidden or “uncopyable” data associated with the file. Copying is what you and I can do by dragging, etc.

So far as I know, there is no need to clone fonts.

There might be an issue with Font Agent Pro (or, at least, the possibility that its installer may have placed bits and pieces of code into different places on your drive). Why not simply use its installer to place it on the new Mac, into the same folder that you used on the old one. Then copy/paste the Preferences file from the old Mac into the Preferences folder on the new one? That should cover all the bases.

You will still need to copy over the FAP Fonts folder.