PDA

View Full Version : 'Incomplete' TrueType font in InDesign


annc
05-29-2005, 08:04 PM
Just now I was Preflighting a job in InDesign (Mac OS X 10.3.9, InDesign CS) and it says one of my TrueType fonts is incomplete. When I checked 'incomplete' in the InDesign Help, it says that it means only the screen font is present, and that the printer font is missing. But how does this affect TrueType fonts?

This particular font is a Windows TrueType that I installed from the Corel 7 CD to match the font for a magazine ad. It's used in just one word, so I don't want to go out and buy a weight of a Mac Type 1. Also, when I did the major Preflight of this job yesterday, there were no yellow triangles in the fonts listing, and even today, when I ask InDesign to show the font, there is no yellow triangle in the fonts list to indicate a problem with the font. Just in Preflight.

Does anybody have any idea what is causing this problem? I've installed several TrueType fonts from the Corel 7 CD on the Mac and never had a problem with one before.

If you know what is causing the problem, do you have a solution other than going out and buying the font or substituting it? I suppose I could try Helvetica Bold and give it a border to get the weight I need. Ugh.

Shane Stanley
05-29-2005, 09:24 PM
Have you tried a restart? I've had cases of InDesign swearing that there's an orphaned screen font that have been solved by a restart.

Shane

annc
05-29-2005, 09:41 PM
Have you tried a restart? I've had cases of InDesign swearing that there's an orphaned screen font that have been solved by a restart.No, I haven't. Will do that now and see what happens.

annc
05-29-2005, 10:06 PM
That fixed it. Thanks.

Shane Stanley
05-30-2005, 03:12 AM
It's amazing how what used to be our first resort is now so easily overlooked...

Shane

annc
05-30-2005, 01:36 PM
It's amazing how what used to be our first resort is now so easily overlooked...True! I only ever think to restart my computer when InDesign starts crashing every time I hit Command-D to place a graphic and select one of the quick access folders on the left of the dialogue box.

Now if only MYOB would follow FileMaker Pro's lead and learn to look at the date settings on my computer whenever I open a new window. I'm sick of accidentally sending out invoices dated the previous week!

ktinkel
05-30-2005, 01:55 PM
Now if only MYOB would follow FileMaker Pro's lead and learn to look at the date settings on my computer whenever I open a new window. I'm sick of accidentally sending out invoices dated the previous week!Better than using a date in the future!

annc
05-30-2005, 02:18 PM
Better than using a date in the future!Yes, true. But I would catch up to that date!

My whinge is that it doesn't keep track of the date. Means I need to close it down every time I use it at all, and it then nags me to back it up.

PeterArnel
05-30-2005, 02:29 PM
Ann
we have a real problem with all our fonts when we upgraded to OX10 - it is alot more fussy than "9" we paid some one to put all our(???) 1000 fonts through Font Doctter and still haveing problems - and as for using client fonts forget it
Peter

annc
05-30-2005, 02:32 PM
Ann
we have a real problem with all our fonts when we upgraded to OX10 - it is alot more fussy than "9" we paid some one to put all our(???) 1000 fonts through Font Doctter and still haveing problems - and as for using client fonts forget it
PeterHmm, I've had no problems with this until now, and a restart fixed it. I think it was n InDesign problem.

Eggles
10-18-2005, 05:05 AM
Ann
we have a real problem with all our fonts when we upgraded to OX10 - it is alot more fussy than "9" we paid some one to put all our(???) 1000 fonts through Font Doctter and still haveing problems - and as for using client fonts forget it
Peter

Peter,

I am a newcomer to Macs (started a new job) after using PCs for 15 years. I have been battling fonts since I began in the job 3 months ago, with fonts disappearing from ID CS2 docs if I leave them alone for a few minutes!! So I did a lot of reading on the net, and found I was not alone with problems with OSX (OS 10.3.9) and Suitcase XI. I used Font Navigator on my PC - simple, and everything just worked - like the Mazda TV ad. I digress.... I downloaded the recent updates to both ID CS2 and Suitcase and successfully installed them a couple of weeks ago but it doesn't seem to have helped much.

Even though I feel I know so very little about the workings of a Mac - and I am the only Mac user in a workplace with 50-60 PCs, and the IT Dept is next to useless with the mac - I decided I would run Font Doctor (comes with Suitcase XI) today. It took over an hour to run the two processes - I think they were called 'diagnosis' and 'organisation', and I saved and printed the report it provided at the end of each stage.

A summary of the diagnosis report was that it examined 2242 fonts, found 509 problems (ranging from damaged fonts, conflicts, duplicates, missing components etc) and was able to fix 2 fonts but 861 fonts were moved to a folder on my desktop (presumably those it couldn't fix). The second stage reported that it diagnosed 2185 problems, moved 39 fonts, fixed 2175 fonts, and created a 'font library' folder on my desktop in which the fonts (presumably those that are OK) were categorised into alphabetical folders and then family subfolders within each. e.g. there was an 'A' folder and a 'B' folder etc in this 'library', and then within say the 'A' folder were folders for each family starting with 'A' such as AGaramond, Arial, AvantGarde etc. This was all done automatically which was rather impressive.

I now have two folders on the desktop - one containing the fonts it can't fix and one where everything is neatly organised. But I'm not quite sure what to do next. My gut feeling is that I should delete everything from Suitcase (or perhaps uninstall it? I don't know how to do that on a Mac - more reading!!) and start again with adding fonts to Suitcase (if necessary, reinstalling it again first) , and seeing if the problems go away. If I launch any MS Office app, such as Word or Excel, I get lots of error messages, which I just click OK through and things seem to work. But it's the 'dropping' of fonts from open ID docs that concerns me. It usually requires a restart of the computer to get things recognised again.

Can anyone more familiar with Macs advise on what to do now? If I need to uninstall Suitcase, how do I do it?

ktinkel
10-18-2005, 06:26 AM
Can anyone more familiar with Macs advise on what to do now? If I need to uninstall Suitcase, how do I do it?When Tiger (OS X 10.4x) first came out, Suitcase had some compatibility problems. Have you checked the Extensis (httphttp://www.extensis.com/en/support/product_compatibility.jsp://) site to see whether you have the most up-to-date version?

My suspicion is that your fonts files are now so confused (or you are!) that you should start over in an orderly fashion. So yes, I would uninstall Suitcase (see below), organize your font files to suit you (I usually keep them in alphabetical folders, but have also used folders organized by foundry/vendor). The objective is to store your fonts in such a way that you can locate the files without jumping through hoops.

Then reinstall Suitcase and add in your staple fonts — the ones you need all the the time. Then add additional sets, for clients, say, or for particular types of work. Then you should end up with a working font library that you can trust.

You might even want to consider switching from Suitcase to Font Agent Pro (http://www.insidersoftware.com/) from Insider Software, which is more stable and functional on my Mac than Suitcase had been (but to be fair that was a couple of versions of Suitcase ago).

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::: :::::::::::::::::::::::
To uninstall Suitcase (from Extensis, found on another web site):Remove the 'Extensis Suitcase X1' folder from your /Applications folder.

Remove the following two files from your /System Folder/Extensions folder: Suitcase Bridge
Suitcase Extension
Remove the following two items from your /Users//Library/Preferences folder: com.extensis.Suitcase.plist
Suitcase Preferences
You also want to remove any of the auto-activation plug ins. For QuarkXPress, 'Suitcase XT' is automatically installed into the XTensions folder if a supported version (4.11, 5 or 6) is installed.

If you use Illustrator 8 or 9, the 'Suitcase Auto-Activation' plug-in is installed in Illustrator's Plug-Ins\Extensions folder.

For Illustrator 10, the 'Suitcase Auto-Activation X' plug-in is installed into Illustrator 10's Plug-Ins\Extensions folder.

If you are using InDesign 2, the 'Suitcase Auto-Activation' plug-in is installed into InDesign's Plug-Ins folder in a sub-folder named 'Extensis'.
Restart the computer, empty the trash. Now if those items are still listed, you should be able to delete them using the minus button. If not, check the for Suitcase files in hard drive>library>Startup Items.

Eggles
10-18-2005, 06:35 AM
When Tiger (OS X 10.4x) first came out, Suitcase had some compatibility problems. Have you checked the Extensis (httphttp://www.extensis.com/en/support/product_compatibility.jsp://) site to see whether you have the most up-to-date version?

Kathleen - the computer runs OS 10.3.9 so I don't think this is the issue. I have applied the update Extensis released recently for Suitcase XI, as well as the update for ID CS2.

You might even want to consider switching from Suitcase to Font Agent Pro (http://www.insidersoftware.com/) from Insider Software, which is more stable and functional on my Mac than Suitcase had been (but to be fair that was a couple of versions of Suitcase ago).

Not a chance that my workplace would spring for any new software.

I assume that where the instructions for uninstalling Suitcase use the word 'remove' they mean 'delete'?

ktinkel
10-18-2005, 07:42 AM
I assume that where the instructions for uninstalling Suitcase use the word 'remove' they mean 'delete'?They mean to take the files out of where they are. You could put them in another folder somewhere or throw them into the trash (i.e., delete them) if you are sure you will not need any of them again for some reason.