PDA

View Full Version : Struggling with Photoshop...

Robin Springall
05-05-2011, 07:38 AM
As usual, I'm having to tweak some artwork that's been sent in, but I'm really not a pro when it comes to Photoshop. He's told me the colour he wants is 0b131d: what's that in CMYK or RGB?

Bo Aakerstrom
05-05-2011, 07:53 AM
As usual, I'm having to tweak some artwork that's been sent in, but I'm really not a pro when it comes to Photoshop. He's told me the colour he wants is 0b131d: what's that in CMYK or RGB?
rgb(11,19,29)
There must be an easy way to find out in Photoshop. If you know about it of course!

Robin Springall
05-05-2011, 09:36 AM
Thank you Bo :)

Andrew B.
05-05-2011, 10:45 AM
It looks like a hex value, but its so low that it's almost black.

Steve Rindsberg
05-05-2011, 11:55 AM
Googling "color converter" hoiks up this right off:

http://www.yellowpipe.com/yis/tools/hex-to-rgb/color-converter.php

Better yet, it thinks Bo's conversion is right.

Bo Aakerstrom
05-05-2011, 04:36 PM

It just had to happen sooner or later!:)

Steve Rindsberg
05-05-2011, 05:30 PM
The world is SO slow in catching up with us savants. Tsk.

Robin Springall
05-06-2011, 10:29 AM
I decided to remake the layout in InDesign, as it generally takes as long to push and pull Photoshop layers around to fit. What's the proper way of saving a layer object (such as a picture) as a PSD or tiff so I can place it in ID?

I do it like this, which seems awfully long-winded:
- Select the layer object and show its transform box so you can see the object's edges.
- Draw a marquee around it.
- Copy the object and paste it into a new Photoshop document.
- Save the document as a PSD or tiff.
- Be grateful there are only 10 or so of the buggers!

I suppose I could paste into InDesign instead, but I don't think I could subsequently edit the object if I needed to.

terrie
05-06-2011, 12:28 PM