PDA

View Full Version : Starting a Different Browser


dthomsen8
02-20-2008, 05:21 AM
Can I start a different browser from the default browser with a desktop icon, but pointing to a different starting URL?

Let me put the question in steps.


Firefox is set as the default browser
MS Internet Explorer is set to start with URL "A"
Desktop Icon starts MSIE, but somehow starts with URL "B", not "A"I hope that is clear enough, but if not, ask me.

iamback
02-20-2008, 06:24 AM
It's not clear to me whether you are having a problem (MSIE opening with "B" instead of "A" which is configured as the start page) or are asking for a "howto" (how to make a desktop shortcut that launches MSIE with "B" loaded instead of "A").

LoisWakeman
02-20-2008, 09:27 AM
Sounds like you created a shortcut to a specific page on your desktop, rather than one to start IE in its default state with the usual home page. You can edit the properties of the shortcut to a different URL.

dthomsen8
02-20-2008, 09:35 AM
It's not clear to me whether you are having a problem (MSIE opening with "B" instead of "A" which is configured as the start page) or are asking for a "howto" (how to make a desktop shortcut that launches MSIE with "B" loaded instead of "A").

How to do that second one is what I want. I want to keep Firefox as my default browser, but have the option of starting MSIE from desktop icons but with more choices than just a default start URL. Unfortunately, I have at least three web sites I visit fairly often that only work with MSIE. I have complained in each instance, there is no willingness to change.

dthomsen8
02-20-2008, 09:38 AM
Sounds like you created a shortcut to a specific page on your desktop, rather than one to start IE in its default state with the usual home page. You can edit the properties of the shortcut to a different URL.

Can I take a shortcut icon that currently starts Firefox with a specific page and change it to use MSIE? Alternatively, can I take an existing MSIE shortcut and edit it to point to a different (not the default) URL?

Steve Rindsberg
02-20-2008, 10:46 AM
Sure.

Make a new shortcut to Explorer on the desktop, rightclick choose Properties

On the shortcut tab, you'll find something like this in the Target textbox:

"C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE"

"C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE" http://www.desktoppublishingforum.com

Obviously, change the url to suit your taste.

Robin Springall
02-20-2008, 12:58 PM
Perhaps try tabbed browsing: I have IE7 set to open three URLs in separate tabs whenever it starts.

BobRoosth
02-20-2008, 04:12 PM
That is what I would suggest. There is a Firefox plugin in called IE View that forces a site to open in IE whenever FF sees it. There is also one called IE Tab that uses the IE rendering engine in a FF tab. It is not clear to me that the latter implements ActiveX controls.