PDA

View Full Version : HS Sports Program

Mom
09-17-2007, 07:08 PM
:rolleyes: Hello! I'm a newbie to this site. I currently use Quark Xpress 7 after many years of using MS Publisher. I'm not a "professional" however I've done many flyers, DTP projects, etc.

One of the largest projects I tackled last year was our HS Basketball program, a 52 page program w/ player profiles, schedules, ads, etc. I used MS Pub last year and nearly pulled all my hair out -- which is the reason I purchased Quark for this years'. I'm getting the hang of the new software as I start to format the program draft, which leads me up to my question...
Is there a resource to view different types of "themes" for a sports program? Either a font/formatting/theme, etc. to really spice it up and give it a special touch? And is there a clip art resource or software anyone could recommend with lots of basketball type graphics that aren't "cheap looking"?

I'm a mom of 3 boys who play basketball so I'll be doing this program for many years most likely. I'll take any advice any of you "pros" could offer!!!

thanks very much!

terrie
09-18-2007, 01:19 PM
Welcome to the forum!

I'm not a Quark person but hopefully one of them will pop in and help you with your questions...

Can you tell me why you bought Quark instead of InDesign??? Just curious...

Terrie

Mom
09-18-2007, 05:23 PM
Hi Terrie,

I started using Quark because the printer who printed our program has an in-house DTP'er who uses Quark and he had told me that if I used this software it would make their job and mine (over MS Publisher) much easier. I guess I didn't know enough to compare InDesign, etc. to Quark, but I knew I needed a heavier duty software over MSPublisher. I hope I don't regret this decision!

It did seem, based on what I researched, like Quark would work for me in a project like this Sports program.