PDA

View Full Version : Font Encoding/codepage


levonk
02-15-2005, 10:19 PM
Hi,

I am a professional font designer, but these days that has no meaning. I am the person that draws the character shapes, then there are people in the company that create the font from my drawings.

This was when I was an employee in a company. Now I have my own company (not a type foundary, but a graphic design/printing company), and I wish to create fonts from some drawings that I have worked on throughout the years.

My drawings are Armenian fonts, and I am using FontLab 4.6 on Mac OS X 10.3 to create Type 1 fonts. As you may have realized I am not that good in creating fonts. I have read some articles/manuals, and I am able to manage the basic stuff.

I am having trouble making my font work with the Armenian script (keyboard layout). The glyphs are in the right place (uni0531 to uni058A). I have named the glyphs not according to the recommended name but according to the real names of the chaacters.

What do I need to do to make my fonts work?

ktinkel
02-16-2005, 06:27 AM
Hi,

I am a professional font designer, but these days that has no meaning. I am the person that draws the character shapes, then there are people in the company that create the font from my drawings.

This was when I was an employee in a company. Now I have my own company (not a type foundary, but a graphic design/printing company), and I wish to create fonts from some drawings that I have worked on throughout the years.

My drawings are Armenian fonts, and I am using FontLab 4.6 on Mac OS X 10.3 to create Type 1 fonts. As you may have realized I am not that good in creating fonts. I have read some articles/manuals, and I am able to manage the basic stuff.

I am having trouble making my font work with the Armenian script (keyboard layout). The glyphs are in the right place (uni0531 to uni058A). I have named the glyphs not according to the recommended name but according to the real names of the chaacters.

What do I need to do to make my fonts work?We have quite a few members who design or modify fonts with FontLab, and maybe one will respond with some advice for you.

In the meantime, have you considered doing what many specialist type designers do, and seek a technical collaborator who can take care of making the font work?

You could also ask your question on the Type Design e-mail list. To subscribe, send an e-mail message to type-design-request@p90.net with the word subscribe as the body of the message (not as the subject).

Welcome to the forum — nice to see you here.

levonk
02-16-2005, 02:31 PM
Thanks ktinkel,

I have considered getting someone to do the font work for me, but I decided I want to learn some of the details of font design. So, I think I will wait for someone to answer to this post.

Its good to know that there are some specialists who are willing to help.

tphinney
02-16-2005, 07:54 PM
Urm. Two things:

- Glyph names are critical in Type 1. If you name them incorrectly, the OS probably can't figure out what they are. Much of the encoding stuff gets thrown away when you generate the font in Type 1 format (Type 1 doesn't have a 'cmap' table).

- Why not use a font format that directly supports a Unicode encoding, like OpenType or TrueType? Even so, I would still suggest using recommended glyph names instead of ones that make sense to you.

To get more help with building fonts in FontLab, I would also recommend the FontLab forum on MSN (though I think they're moving it soon), and the "Build" forum on Typophile. You'll even find an Armenian type designer who hangs out on Typophile....

Regards,

T

levonk
02-17-2005, 01:01 PM
Thanks tphinney. I use Type 1 because the fonts will be used for printing, and RIPs prefer T1 fonts. I wouldn't want to use TT fonts, but OT is OK I think. This is what I came up with from all the research and work that I did on RIPs and imagesetters. Unfortunately I was trained in almost all aspects of the printing industry, and now that I have my own printing company, the problems I face are almost all in those areas that I skipped.

levonk
02-17-2005, 01:32 PM
tphinney, I exported the font as OT, and it worked in InDesign, which is the program I use. But it does not work in TextEdit. The basic problem is that the system does not consider the font to be an Armenian font, thus it reverts to the default Armenian font.

changing the Glyph names resulted in the same thing. So, I prefer my naming scheme.

I was not able to log on to Typophile today, I will try again tomorrow. Hopefully I will be able to solve this problem soon.

Thanks.

levonk
02-18-2005, 03:14 PM
I posted on Typophile and the first answer I got says that the problem may be with the OS and not the font.