PDA

View Full Version : Ummm ... donuts ...

marlene
12-30-2005, 03:38 PM
The Washington Post's December 28th food section ran an article entitled "A New Year's Supper for 20: The Best of Old and New" with recipes:

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2005/12/27/AR2005122700207.html

The highlight (or nadir, depending on your point of view) is a recipe on the last page for Krispy Kreme Chocolate Icebox Bombe.

Okay, who's gonna try it? KT?

Too bad the Post web site didn't include the photo that was in the printed section!

mxh

ktinkel
12-31-2005, 05:46 AM
The highlight (or nadir, depending on your point of view) is a recipe on the last page for Krispy Kreme Chocolate Icebox Bombe.

Okay, who's gonna try it? KT?Huh? Me? You gotta be kidding. I am a lousy dessert cook in any event (I can’t even seem to make edible chocolate chip cookies!)

And then Krispy Kreme is too revolting even to contemplate playing with. But do report back if you try it, will you? <g>

In your honor, btw, we bought a box of Mallomars at the market the other day. I had seen a little story in the newspaper about how the Mallomar season was open, so when I saw them in the Nabisco section, why, it seemed like kismet …

terrie
12-31-2005, 02:04 PM
marlene: The highlight (or nadir, depending on your point of view) is a recipe on the last page for Krispy Kreme Chocolate Icebox Bombe.I saw that and thought...ugh!

I have a lovely piece freshly made baklava as a treat for myself tonight courtesy of Zo's barn owner...'-}}

Terrie

marlene
01-01-2006, 12:38 AM
But do report back if you try it, will you?

Chances are slim to none! If I ever got motivated enough to cook something, it wouldn't have donuts as an ingredient. I do like a good donut once in a while, but I don't adulterate them. <g>

In your honor, btw, we bought a box of Mallomars at the market the other day.